What Is The Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage In CT?

The minimum auto insurance coverage in CT is mandated by the state, as it is in all of the United States. The keyword there, however, is “minimum.” They are exactly that. Minimal coverage requirements which may or may not be adequate should you be involved in an accident.

Following a motor vehicle collision, the property damage costs, medical bills, and more can easily exceed any coverage you may have if you’re only going with the minimum required by your state. Many people choose to not only increase the required coverage but add coverage of varying types to make sure all their bases are covered – literally!

Here, we are going to take a look at what is specifically required by Connecticut when it comes to the minimum auto insurance laws.

Connecticut Minimum Requirements

You are strongly advised to purchase not only higher dollar amounts than the Connecticut required coverage, but you are also advised to purchase additional coverage types. However, here are the bare essentials where Connecticut auto insurance requirements are concerned:

  • Per accident, for property damage liability, $25,000 or higher
  • Per accident, for bodily injury liability, $50,000 and…
  • Per person, for bodily injury liability, $25,000

Now let’s take a look at some insurance coverages/policies specifically.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Though there are numerous types of insurance coverages you can add to the minimums in any state – collision and comprehensive being two important types – an essential coverage that should be considered by any and every United States driver is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

If you are involved in an automobile collision with someone who has no insurance at all or simply not enough of it, this kind of insurance is going to be invaluable. When the accident is someone else’s fault, and they are underinsured or uninsured, it pays for bodily injury. For one person’s bodily injury, this coverage comes with a set minimum amount. For all accident-related bodily injuries, a larger amount is set.

Liability Coverage

If you are at fault in an accident, you will very likely be liable for numerous expenses. Liability coverage comes in here as an essential part of an insurance policy. To keep your vehicle legally insured, three different types of liability coverage are required by the state of Connecticut (as you saw above):

  • As a result of an accident, for property damage liability, there is a specific amount set
  • For one person’s accident-related bodily injury, a specific amount is set
  • For anyone who received an accident-related injury, a higher specific amount is set

Do You Need to Shop for Auto Insurance in CT?

Are you looking for insurance? Are you a Connecticut car owner/driver? At K&N Brokerage, we take the time to get to know you personally, and learn about your driving/insurance needs. We provide numerous individuals with RV, boat, motorcycle insurance, umbrella insurance, condo insurance, renters, home, and auto insurance.

Contact us today if you’d like to join the thousands who have already shopped and customized their insurance through our helpful customer service representatives.

Click here to fill out a few quick pieces of information for a quote.